8.3 Main square of Veličná

Pencil, watercolour on paper, 297 x 467 mm
Inscribed at top middle: Chotsch; at bottom left: 50, Velicsna od Nagyfalu Haupt Platz; at bottom middle: Velicsna od Nagyfalu; at bottom right: Kubin
Inscribed on the backing at bottom left: Nagyfalu főpiaccza
MTA Könyvtára, Kézirattár, Ms 4409/83

Map: II

Veličná with the main square, the church, some houses, and a few human figures sketched up in pencil. On the right a donkey-cart and a coach seem to be waiting. The road on the right leads to Dolný Kubín / Alsókubin. We see the characteristic mass of the Vel'ký Choč opposite us. - First mentioned in a 1272 deed of gift, issued by King Ladislas IV of Hungary, Veličná / Nagyfalu is one of the most ancient settlements in Árva County. Until 1683 it had been the county's administrative centre and the site of regional noble assemblies. In that year it was sacked and burnt down by Lithuanian troops of the Polish king, Jan Sobieski, on their way back from Vienna. The county archive kept in the church was also destroyed. There was a beautiful mansion in Veličná that belonged to the Orava estate. The charming Lutheran church is also worth mentioning. Veličná had about 1500 Slovak inhabitants in the 1850s. - Bibliography: Fényes Elek